GK - World - SPLessons

Women Leaders

Home > > Tutorial
SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

Women Leaders

shape Introduction

Leaders are inspiring and dynamic visionaries who set direction, lead, motivate, and manage a group of people to build and achieve goals that can shape the existence in the world. Along with men, there are a number of powerful and influential women who have shaped the course of humankind with their passion, intelligence, visions, strength and leadership abilities. Several women have evidently challenged the status quo and have made lasting reforms. Some women have presided over countries, and have made great efforts leading to the prospering of the nations. The article Women Leaders lists some of the influential women leaders in the history. Note that the list of Women Leaders is not exhaustive. An attempt has been made to list a few and we shall keep striving to add more to the list as there are women leaders everywhere creating extraordinary impact every single day.

shape Leaders

Women Leaders - Great Visionaries
Name Country Field Year
Agatha Barbara Malta Acting President 1982
Agathe Uwilingiyimana Rwanda Prime Minister 1993
Anne Enger Lahnstein Norway Acting Prime Minister 1998
Adrienne Clarkson Canada Governor General 1999
Anneli Tuulikki Jaattenmaki Finland Prime Minister 2003
Angela Merkel Germany Chancellor 2005
Benazir Bhutto Pakistan Prime Minister 1988
Beatriz Merino Lucero Peru Prime Minister 2003
Carmen Pereira Guinea Bissau Acting President 1984
Corazon Aquino Philippines President 1986
Catherine Tizard New Zealand Governor-General 1990
Chandrika Kumaratunga Sri Lanka Prime Minister, President 1994
Claudette Werleigh Haithi Prime Minister 1995
Calliopa Pearlette Louisy St.Lucia Governor General 1997
Change Sang South Korea Prime Minister 2002
Elisabeth Domitien Central African Republic Prime Minister 1975
Elmira Minita Gordon Belize Governor General 1981
Ertha Pascal Trouillot Haiti Acting President 1990
Edith Cresson France Prime Minister 1991
Ellen Johnson Liberia President 2006
Flora Macdonald Canada Acting Prime Minister 1987
Golda Meir Israel Prime Minister 1969
Gro Harlem Brundtland Norway Prime Minister 1981
Gloriana Ranocchini San Marino Co Captain Regent 1984
Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo Philippines President 2001
Hilda Gibbs-Bynoe Grenada Governor 1967
Hanna Suchocka Poland Prime Minister 1992
Helen Clark New Zealand Prime Minister 1999
Indira Gandhi India Prime Minister 1966
Irena Degutienė Lithuania President 1999
Jeanne Mathilde Sauve Canada Governor-General 1984
Janet Jagan Guyana Prime Minister, President 1997
Jenny Shipley New Zealand Prime Minister 1997
Jennifer Smith Bermuda Prime Minister 1998
Kazimiera Prunskiene Lithuania Prime Minister 1990
Khaleda Zia Bangladesh Prime Minister 1991
Kim Campbell Canada Prime Minister 1993
Lucinda da Costa Gomez Matheeuws Netherlands Antilles Prime Minister 1977
Lidia Gueiler Tejada Bolivia Acting President 1979
Luisa Dias Diogo Mozambique Prime Minister 2004
Maria Isabel Peron Argentina President 1974
Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo Portugal Acting Prime Minister 1979
Margaret Hilda Thatcher Britain Prime Minister 1979
Mary Eugenia Charles Dominica Prime Minister 1980
Maria Lea Pedini-Angelini San Marino Co CaptainRegent 1981
Milka Planinc Yugoslavia Prime Minister 1982
Maria Liberia Peters Netherland Antilles Prime Minister 1984
Mary Robinson Ireland President 1990
Mary Mc Aleese Ireland President 1997
Mireya Moscoso Panama President 1999
Megawati Sukarnoputri Indonesia President 2001
Madior Boye Senegal Prime Minister 2001
Maria Das Neves Ceita Batista De Sousa Sao Tome and Principe Prime Minister 2002
Monica Dacon Saint Vincent & The Grenadines Governor-General 2002
Michelle Bachelet Chile President 2006
Nyam-Osoryn Tuyaa Mongolia Acting Prime Minister 1999
Nino Burjanadze George Acting President 2003
Pamela Gordon Bermuda Prime Minister 1997
Park Geun Hye South Korea President 2013
Ruth Nita Barrow Barbados Governor-General 1990
Reneta Indzhova Bulgaria Acting Prime Minister 1994
Ruth Sando Perry Liberia Acting President 1996
Rosalia Arteaga Ecuador President 1997
Ruth Dreifuss Switzerland President 1999
Sükhbaataryn Yanjmaa Mongolia Acting President 1953
Sirimavo Bandaranaike Sri Lanka Prime Minister 1960
Soong Ching-ling China Honorary President 1980
Sabine Bergmann-Pohl German Democratic Republic President 1990
Suzanne Camelia-Römer Netherland Antilles Prime Minister 1993
Sylvie Kinigi Burundi Prime Minister 1993
Sheikh Hasina Bangladesh Prime Minister 1996
Silvia Cartwright New Zealand Governor-General 2001
Tansu Ciller Turkey Prime Minister 1993
Tarja Halonen Finland President 2000
Vigdis Finnbogadottir Iceland President 1980
Violeta Barrios De Chamorro Nicaragua President 1990
Vaira Vike Freiberga Latvia President 1999
Yulia Tymoshenko Ukraine Prime Minister 2004