GK - World - SPLessons

United Nations Member States

Home > > Tutorial
SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

United Nations Member States

List Of United Nations Member States

shape Introduction

The United Nations Member States is an international organization founded in 1945. Currently made up of 193 Member States, the UN is the world's largest intergovernmental organization. The United Nations member states are the sovereign states that are members of the United Nations (UN) and have equal representation in the UN General Assembly. The headquarters of the UN is in Manhattan, New York city, and is subject to extraterritoriality. Further main offices are situated in Geneva, Nairobi, and Vienna. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter. The United Nations can take action on the issues confronting humanity in the 21st century, such as peace and security, climate change, sustainable development, human rights, disarmament, terrorism, humanitarian and health emergencies, gender equality, governance, food production, and more.
The UN provides a forum for its members to express their views in the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, and other bodies and committees. UN encourages dialogue between its members and hence is primarily known for hosting negotiations. UN has become a mechanism for governments to find areas of agreement and solve problems together.
The criteria for admission of new members to the UN are set out in Chapter II, Article 4 of the UN Charter as follows:
  • Membership in the United Nations is open to all peace-loving states which accept the obligations contained in the present Charter and, in the judgement of the Organization, are able and willing to carry out these obligations.

  • The admission of any such state to membership in the United Nations will be effected by a decision of the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Security Council.

  • shape List

    United Nations Member States with Dates of joining the Organization.
    Member Date of Admission
    Afghanistan 19-Nov-1946
    Albania 14-Dec-1955
    Algeria 08-Oct-1962
    Andorra 28-Jul-1993
    Angola 01-Dec-1976
    Antigua and Barbuda 11-Nov-1981
    Argentina 24-Oct-1945
    Armenia 02-Mar-1992
    Australia 01-Nov-1945
    Austria 14-Dec-1955
    Azerbaijan 02-Mar-1992
    Member Date of Admission
    Bahamas 18-Sep-1973
    Bahrain 21-Sep-1971
    Bangladesh 17-Sep-1974
    Barbados 09-Dec-1966
    Belarus 24-Oct-1945
    Belize 25-Sep-1981
    Benin 20-Sep-1960
    Bhutan 21-Sep-1971
    Bolivia 14-Nov-1945
    Bosnia and Herzegovina 22-May-1992
    Botswana 17-Oct-1966
    Brazil 24-Oct-1945
    Brunei Darussalam 21-Sep-1984
    Bulgaria 14-Dec-1955
    Burkina Faso 20-Sep-1960
    Burundi 18-Sep-1962
    Member Date of Admission
    Cambodia 14-Dec-1955
    Cameroon 20-Sep-1960
    Canada 09-Nov-1945
    Cape Verde 16-Sep-1975
    Central African Republic 20-Sep-1960
    Chad 20-Sep-1960
    Chile 24-Oct-1945
    China 24-Oct-1945
    Colombia 05-Nov-1945
    Comoros 12-Nov-1975
    Congo(Republic of the) 20-Sep-1960
    Costa Rica 02-Nov-1945
    Côte d’Ivoire(Ivory Coast) 20-Sep-1960
    Croatia 22-May-1992
    Cuba 24-Oct-1945
    Cyprus 20-Sep-1960
    Czech Republic 19-Jan-1993
    Member Date of Admission
    Democratic People’s Republic of Korea 17-Sep-1991
    Democratic Republic of the Congo 20-Sep-1960
    Denmark 24-Oct-1945
    Djibouti 20-Sep-1977
    Dominica 18-Dec-1978
    Dominican Republic 24-Oct-1945
    Member Date of Admission
    Ecuador 21-Dec-1945
    Egypt 24-Oct-1945
    El Salvador 24-Oct-1945
    Equatorial Guinea 12-Nov-1968
    Eritrea 28-May-1993
    Estonia 17-Sep-1991
    Ethiopia 13-Nov-1945
    Member Date of Admission
    Fiji 13-Oct-1970
    Finland 14-Dec-1955
    France 24-Oct-1945
    Member Date of Admission
    Gabon 20-Sep-1960
    Gambia 21-Sep-1965
    Georgia 31-Jul-1992
    Germany 18-Sep-1973
    Ghana 08-Mar-1957
    Greece 25-Oct-1945
    Grenada 17-Sep-1974
    Guatemala 21-Nov-1945
    Guinea 12-Dec-1958
    Guinea-Bissau 17-Sep-1974
    Guyana 20-Sep-1966
    Member Date of Admission
    Haiti 24-Oct-1945
    Honduras 17-Dec-1945
    Hungary 14-Dec-1955
    Member Date of Admission
    Iceland 19-Nov-1946
    India 30-Oct-1945
    Indonesia 28-Sep-1950
    Iran 24-Oct-1945
    Iraq 21-Dec-1945
    Ireland 14-Dec-1955
    Israel 11-May-1949
    Italy 14-Dec-1955
    Member Date of Admission
    Jamaica 18-Sep-1962
    Japan 18-Dec-1956
    Jordan 14-Dec-1955
    Member Date of Admission
    Kazakhstan 02-Mar-1992
    Kenya 16-Dec-1963
    Kiribati 14-Sep-1999
    Kuwait 14-May-1963
    Kyrgyzstan 02-Mar-1992
    Member Date of Admission
    Lao People’s Democratic Republic 14-Dec-1955
    Latvia 17-Sep-1991
    Lebanon 24-Oct-1945
    Lesotho 17-Oct-1966
    Liberia 02-Nov-1945
    Libya 14-Dec-1955
    Liechtenstein 18-Sep-1990
    Lithuania 17-Sep-1991
    Luxembourg 24-Oct-1945
    Member Date of Admission
    Madagascar 20-Sep-1960
    Malawi 01-Dec-1964
    Malaysia 17-Sep-1957
    Maldives 21-Sep-1965
    Mali 28-Sep-1960
    Malta 01-Dec-1964
    Marshall Islands 17-Sep-1991
    Mauritania 27-Oct-1961
    Mauritius 24-Apr-1968
    Mexico 07-Nov-1945
    Micronesia (Federated States of) 17-Sep-1991
    Monaco 28-May-1993
    Mongolia 27-Oct-1961
    Montenegro 28-Jun-2006
    Morocco 12-Nov-1956
    Mozambique 16-Sep-1975
    Myanmar 19-Apr-1948
    Member Date of Admission
    Namibia 23-Apr-1990
    Nauru 14-Sep-1999
    Nepal 14-Dec-1955
    Netherlands 10-Dec-1945
    New Zealand 24-Oct-1945
    Nicaragua 24-Oct-1945
    Niger 20-Sep-1960
    Nigeria 07-Oct-1960
    Norway 27-Nov-1945
    Member Date of Admission
    Oman 07-Oct-1971
    Member Date of Admission
    Pakistan 30-Sep-1947
    Palau 15-Dec-1994
    Panama 13-Nov-1945
    Papua New Guinea 10-Oct-1975
    Paraguay 24-Oct-1945
    Peru 31-Oct-1945
    Philippines 24-Oct-1945
    Poland 24-Oct-1945
    Portugal 14-Dec-1955
    Member Date of Admission
    Qatar 21-Sep-1971
    Member Date of Admission
    Republic of Korea 17-Sep-1991
    Republic of Moldova 02-Mar-1992
    Romania 14-Dec-1955
    Russian Federation 24-Oct-1945
    Rwanda 18-Sep-1962
    Member Date of Admission
    Saint Kitts and Nevis 23-Sep-1983
    Saint Lucia 18-Sep-1979
    Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 16-Sep-1980
    Samoa 15-Dec-1976
    San Marino 02-Mar-1992
    Sao Tome and Principe 16-Sep-1975
    Saudi Arabia 24-Oct-1945
    Senegal 28-Sep-1960
    Serbia 01-Nov-2000
    Seychelles 21-Sep-1976
    Sierra Leone 27-Sep-1961
    Singapore 21-Sep-1965
    Slovakia 19-Jan-1993
    Slovenia 22-May-1992
    Solomon Islands 19-Sep-1978
    Somalia 20-Sep-1960
    South Africa 07-Nov-1945
    South ‎Sudan 14-Jul-2011
    Spain 14-Dec-1955
    Sri Lanka 14-Dec-1955
    Sudan 12-Nov-1956
    Suriname 04-Dec-1975
    Swaziland 24-Sep-1968
    Switzerland 10-Sep-2002
    Sweden 19-Nov-1946
    Syria 24-Oct-1945
    Member Date of Admission
    Tajikistan 02-Mar-1992
    Thailand 16-Dec-1946
    The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia 08-Apr-1993
    Timor Leste 27-Sep-2002
    Togo 20-Sep-1960
    Tonga 14-Sep-1999
    Trinidad and Tobago 18-Sep-1962
    Tunisia 12-Nov-1956
    Turkey 24-Oct-1945
    Turkmenistan 02-Mar-1992
    Tuvalu 05-Sep-2000
    Member Date of Admission
    Uganda 25-Oct-1962
    Ukraine 24-Oct-1945
    United Arab Emirates 09-Dec-1971
    United Kingdom 24-Oct-1945
    United of Republic of Tanzania 14-Dec-1961
    United States 24-Oct-1945
    Uruguay 18-Dec-1945
    Uzbekistan 02-Mar-1992
    Member Date of Admission
    Vanuatu 15-Sep-1981
    Venezuela 15-Nov-1945
    Vietnam 20-Sep-1977
    Member Date of Admission
    Yemen 30-Sep-1947
    Member Date of Admission
    Zambia 01-Dec-1964
    Zimbabwe 25-Aug-1980