GK - World - SPLessons

Commonwealth Weightlifting Championship 2019

Home > > Tutorial
SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

Commonwealth Weightlifting Championship 2019

shape Introduction

Commonwealth Games are an international multi-sport event which involves athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The Commonwealth Games are also known as the British Empire Games. The event was first held in 1930. It is the world's first event which have equal number of women’s and men’s medal events was implemented recently in the year 2018.
Weightlifting is one of the sports which happens for every four years on Commonwealth Games Competition. India ended their campaign with a rich tally of 37 medals at Commonwealth Weightlifting Championship 2019 was held on 9[latex]^{th}[/latex] to 15[latex]^{th}[/latex] July, 2019 in Apia, Samoa.
The article Commonwealth Weightlifting Championship 2019 explains about the Categories, Medals, and List of the Winners. The Weightlifting events were held based on three categories namely Senior, Junior and Youth. India won "35" medals out of "37" Weightlifting's that to 22 golds, 10 silvers, and 3 bronze medals.

shape Winners List

India broken 22 records in all 3 age groups in World, Asian, Commonwealth and National level as well as new junior record at Commonwealth and National level.
Name of the winner Event
Jhilli Dalabehra Women’s 45 kg(Senior)
Mirabai Chanu Women’s 49 kg(Senior)
Soroikhaibam Bindyarani Devi Women’s 55 kg(Senior)
Davinder Kaur Women’s 59 kg (Senior)
Rakhi Halder Women’s 64 kg(Senior)
P. Anuradha Women’s 87 kg(Senior)
Bornali Borah Women’s 45 kg(Junior)
Sukarna Adak Women’s 59 kg(Junior)
Seram Nirupama Devi Women’s 64 kg(Junior)
Soumya Sunil Dalvi Women’s 40 kg(Youth)
Sukarna Adak Women’s 59 kg(Youth)
Name of the winner Event
Achinta Sheuli Men’s 73 kg(Senior)
Ajay Singh Men’s 81 Kg(Senior)
Pardeep Singh Men’s 102 kg(Senior)
Rishikanta Singh Men’s 55 kg(Senior)
Gulam Navi Men’s 67 kg(Junior)
Jacob Vanlaltluanga Men’s 61 kg(Junior)
Achinta Sheuli Men’s 73 kg(Junior)
Bhaktaram Desti Men’s 49 kg(Youth)
Jacob Vanlaltluanga Men’s 61 kg(Youth)
L. Sadananda Singh Men’s 73 kg(Youth)
A.S.R.K. Yadav Men’s 81 kg(Youth)

Other Articles

shape Exams

Competitive Exams - College Entrance Exams
Category Notification
Diploma NITC New Delhi Goa Diploma Admissions 2019
GATE 2020
XAT 2020
Click Here For – All India Entrance Exam Notifications

shape Job-Alerts

Competitive Exams - Recent Job Notifications
Banking SSC Railway
Defence Police Insurance
Click Here For – All India Latest Jobs

shape SP Quiz

Competitive Exams - Practice Sets
Category Quiz
English Language Spotting Errors
Insurance Awareness Insurance Awareness
Quantitative Aptitude Time and Work