GK - World - SPLessons

Ramon Magsaysay Awards 2018

Home > > Tutorial
SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

Ramon Magsaysay Awards 2018

Ramon Magsaysay Awards 2018

shape Introduction

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established to honor former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay. The prestigious award is being given to outstanding individuals/organizations – regardless of race, creed, nationality and gender – who manifests greatness of spirit in service to the Asian people since 1958.
In the 60th year of an annual tradition, the Board of Trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) announced that for 2018 six individuals from Cambodia, East Timor, India, the Philippines, and Vietnam will receive Asia’s premier prize, the Ramon Magsaysay Award.

shape Awards

Below table lists the recipients of Ramon Magsaysay Awards 2018
S.No Name of the Awardee Country Awarded For
1 Youk Chhang Cambodia Preserving Historical Memory For Healing and Justice
2 Maria de Lourdes Martins Cruz East Timor Building a Caring Society Brick by Brick
3 Howard Dee Philippines Championing The Human Face Of Peace, Justice and Economic Growth
4 Bharat Vatwani India Restoring Health and Dignity to Troubled Lives
5 Vo Thi Hoang Yen Vietnam Claiming Opportunities for the Differently Abled
6 Sonam Wangchuk India Harnessing Nature, Culture and Education For Community Progress

Below given the detailed Description of Ramon Magsaysay Awards 2018.
  • Youk Chhang, from Cambodia. He is being recognized for “his great, unstinting labor in preserving the memory of the Cambodian genocide, and his leadership and vision in transforming the memory of horror into a process of attaining and preserving justice in his nation and the world.”

  • Maria de Lourdes Martins Cruz, from East Timor. She is being recognized for “her pure humanitarianism in uplifting Timor Leste’s poor, her valiant pursuit of social justice and peace, and hernurturing the development of autonomous, self-reliant, caring citizens, so vital in new, post-conflict nationsin the world.”

  • Howard Dee, from the Philippines. He is being recognized for “his quietly heroic half-century of service to the Filipino people, his abiding dedication to the pursuit of social justice and peace in achieving dignity and progress for the poor, and his being, by his deeds, a true servant of his Faith and an exemplarycitizen of his nation.”

  • Bharat Vatwani, from India. He is being recognized for “his tremendous courage and healing compassion in embracing India’s mentally-afflicted destitute, and his steadfast and magnanimous dedication to the work of restoring and affirming the human dignity of even the most ostracized in ourmidst.”

  • Vo Thi Hoang Yen, from Vietnam. She is being recognized for “her dauntless spirit and prodigiousenergy in rising above her condition; her creative, charismatic leadership in the sustained campaign to break down physical and mental barriers that have marginalized PWDs in Vietnam; and for being a shining,inspirational model for the young in her country and elsewhere in the world.”

  • Sonam Wangchuk, from India. He is being recognized for “his uniquely systematic, collaborative and community - driven reform of learning systems in remote northern India, thus improving the life opportunities of Ladakhi youth, and his constructive engagement of all sectors in local society to harness science and culture creatively for economic progress, thus setting an example for minority peoples in the world.”