BSNL MT - SPLessons

Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited

Home > Lesson > Chapter 1
SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited

shape Introduction

Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) was incorporated on 15th September 2000. It took over the business of providing of telecom services and network management from the erstwhile Central Government Departments of Telecom Services (DTS) and Telecom Operations (DTO), with effect from 1st October‘2000 on going concern basis. It is one of the largest & leading public sector units providing comprehensive range of telecom services in India.

shape Services

  • BSNL serves its customers with a wide bouquet of telecom services namely Wireline, CDMA mobile, GSM mobile, Internet, Broadband, Carrier service, MPLS-VPN, VSAT, VoIP, IN Services, FTTH, etc.

  • BSNL has installed Quality Telecom Network in the country & now focusing on improving it, expanding the network, introducing new telecom services with ICT applications in villages & winning customer's confidence.

  • Today, BSNL has about 36.42 million line basic telephone capacity, 7.13 million WLL capacity, 95.96 million GSM capacity, 34,727 fixed exchanges, 1,17,090 GSM BTSs, 9,594 CDMA Towers, 102 Satellite Stations, 7,73,976 RKm. of OFC, 4751 RKm. of microwave network connecting 646 districts, 4519cities/towns & 6.25 lakhs villages.

shape Admin Units

BSNL Administrative units:
BSNL is divided into a number of administrative units, variously known as:

  • Telecom circles

  • Metro districts

  • Project circles and

  • Specialized units

It has 24 telecom circles, two metro districts, six project circles, four maintenance regions, five telecom factories, three training institutions and four specialized telecom units.

shape Directors

The Board comprise of 12 Directors, of which 5 [including the CMD] are whole time Directors and 2 Government Nominee Directors. The present (2019) composition is as under
Board of Directors
Chairman & Managing Director and Director (CM) Shri Anupam Shrivastava
Director - Consumer Fixed Access (CFA) Shri Vivek Banzal
Director - (Enterprise) Shri N.K.Mehta
Director - (HRD) & (Fin) Smt. Sujata Ray
Govt. Director Shri R. K. Khandelwal Joint Secretary(Admn) & DG (C&A) DoT
Smt. Padma Iyer Kaul
Non Official Independent Director Smt. Kanuru Sujatha Rao
Dr. Santosh R.Dastane
prof. Jasbir Singh
Shri V.Venkateshwar Bhat