Federal Bank Officers [Scale -I] - SPLessons
SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks


shape Introduction

The Federal Bank is a major Indian commercial bank headquartered in Aluva, Kochi, Kerala. As of 2017, the Bank has 1252 branches and 1687 ATMs across the country.

shape History

The history of Federal Bank dates back to the pre-independence era. The Bank was incorporated on April 23, 1931 as the Travancore Federal Bank Limited, Nedumpuram under the Travancore Companies Regulation, 1916. Late K.P. Hormis, the visionary banker and founder took up the reigns in 1945 and built the bank a nationwide institution. The Bank's name was changed to The Federal Bank Limited on December 2, 1949. The Bank was licensed under the Banking Regulation Act, 1949, on July 11, 1959 and became a scheduled commercial bank under the Second Schedule of Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934 on July 20, 1970. Today the bank is present in 25 States, Delhi NCT and 4 Union Territories and the bank is listed in BSE, NSE and London Stock Exchange.

shape Founder

Late Kulangara Paulo Hormis, the visionary Banker was born on 18th October, 1917 at Mookkannoor; a small village in the suburbs of Greater Cochin, in a traditional agrarian family. He started his career as an Advocate in the Munisiff Court of Perumbavoor. The law profession could not satisfy the entrepreneur in Late Hormis and so he gravitated to commercial banking.
The acquisition of the controlling stake in a commercial bank was a defining event in the life of late Hormis. Shri K P Hormis took up the reins of Federal Bank in 1945 as its Chief Executive. Fired by a passion for institution building, Shri Hormis built out of a One-Branch-Small-Time Bank, a nationwide institution of 285 branches in the 34 years that he remained at the helm. In 1947, the Bank was re-christened as "The Federal Bank Limited". In 1954, he was elected to the Travancore Cochin Assembly as a candidate of Indian National Congress representing Perumbavoor constituency.
On 31 March 1979, he retired from the services of the Bank as its Chairman, but continued on its Board two more years. Shri Hormis breathed his last on 26 January 1988.
Shri Hormis served as the:
  • Member of Legislative Assembly of the erstwhile Travancore-Cochin State during 1954-56.

  • Managing Committee Member of Indian Banks' Association.

  • President of Kerala Management Association.

  • Faculty Member of Cochin University of Science and Technology.

  • Advisor on Banking Commission of Govt. of Kerala.

  • Vice President of Kerala Tennis Association.

  • Founder President of Kerala Bankers' Chamber.

  • The times and deeds of Shri Hormis are an eternal source of inspiration to the young and old, in every walk of life.

shape Directors

Current Board of Directors are:
  • Mr. K. M. Chandrasekhar - Part Time Chairman

  • Mr. Shyam Srinivasan - Managing Director & CEO

  • Mr. Nilesh Shivji Vikamsey - Director

  • Mr. C Balagopal - Director

  • Mr. Dilip Gena Sadarangani - Director

  • Mr. Harish H Engineer - Director

  • Smt. Grace Elizabeth Koshie - Director

  • Smt. Shubhalakshmi Panse - Director

  • Mr. Ashutosh Khajuria - Executive Director

  • Mr. Ganesh Sankaran - Executive Director